Teaching Life Skills

Today I taught my 12 year old grandson to use a riding lawnmower.  I know, don’t let children use dangerous equipment, but I learned to use a lawnmower when there were no safety devices on them.  This lawmmower has so many a person has to want to be run over before any damage… well that defense is probably another issue.

I took steps to show him all the safety devices and for him to experience each one.  Of course, he rolled his eyes but I had him – it would be like driving a car.  I had him do many rounds forward and backward in my driveway and he mastered them.  I outlined the area to be mowed (yes, I chose the easiest area in the backyard) and supervised his mowing.  I could do the yard in 30 to 40 minutes, but his time was double.  It was worth the trouble.  I used encouragement, correction, and ultimately praise for a job well done.

I thought of my relationship with God, how many times has God sent me on new tasks for which I felt ill prepared;  yet he walked beside me throughout the task no matter if I messed up, did a less than stellar job, or simply wanted to quit.  He encouraged me, he corrected me (often), and ultimately praised me through praising his wisdom in teaching me.

A 12 year old learned a new life skill today and taught his grandfather about eternal life skills which God gives everyday.

OHG

About onehippguy

Husband of one wife, 2 adult children, 4 grandchildren, Doctor of Ministry, church associate pastor 32 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment